Best answer: Which term used for Indian subcontinent?

South Asia was the common term used for the Indian sub continent.

What was the term used for the Indian subcontinent for Class 7?

Presently, the term ‘Hindustan’ is understood by ‘India’, a modern nation state. … In the 16th century, Babur and Amir Khusrau used the term ‘Hindustan’ to describe the geography, fauna and culture of the inhabitants of the sub-continent.

Why is Indian subcontinent so called?

India is a subcontinent located in South of Asian continent. It is considered a subcontinent because it covers an expansive area of land that includes the Himalayan region in the north, the Gangetic Plain as well as the plateau region in the south.

How is India related to the term subcontinent?

A subcontinent is a part of a continent that is politically and/or geographically separate from the rest of the continent. Geographically, the Indian Subcontinent consists of the peninsular part of present-day India, south of the Himalayas, on the Indian tectonic plate.

THIS IS FUN:  You asked: Who founded Delhi in 736 AD?

What is the subcontinent called?

A large and distinct section of a continent can be called a subcontinent. Many subcontinents are separated from the rest of a continent by geographical features. One of the most well-known subcontinents is the Indian subcontinent, which was once the country of India, but today includes Pakistan and Bangladesh.

What were the terms used for Indian subcontinent in the history of India?

Answer: The geographical region has historically simply been known as “India” (in antiquity referring to the Indus Valley region, not the entire subcontinent). Other related terms are Greater India and South Asia. And the terms “Indian subcontinent” and “South Asia” are sometimes used interchangeably.

What does subcontinent mean in history?

Definition of subcontinent

: a large landmass smaller than a continent especially : a major subdivision of a continent the Indian subcontinent.

How many subcontinent are there in India?

The Indian subcontinent consists of 7 countries- India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, and the Maldives. But what if the entire Indian subcontinent was to be contained within a single political boundary?

What is subcontinent name the countries forming the Indian subcontinent?

The Indian subcontinent is a vast area the size of Europe, and is today divided into the separate countries of India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. Within the subcontinent itself, there is a wide variety of peoples, languages and religions.

What is Indian subcontinent?

The Indian subcontinent is a term mainly used for the geographic region surrounded by the Indian Ocean: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The subcontinent was once part of Gondwana, the ancient southern supercontinent.

THIS IS FUN:  You asked: Why is India facing food problem today how can it be solved?

Is India the only subcontinent?

India is not the only part of Indian subcontinent, but other SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) countries – Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh and Maldives – are also a part of the Indian subcontinent. This group, when combined together, form the Indian subcontinent.

Which countries are called subcontinent?

According to Chris Brewster, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal and Bhutan constitute the Indian subcontinent; with Afghanistan and Maldives included it is more commonly referred to as South Asia.

Where is the Indian subcontinent?

The Indian subcontinent, or simply the subcontinent, is a physiographical region in South Asia. It is situated on the Indian Plate and projecting southwards into the Indian Ocean from the Himalayas.

What is subcontinent name the countries that constitute the Indian subcontinent How is India different from other countries of Asia?

Countries that make up the Indian subcontinent are—India at the centre, Pakistan in the west, Nepal and China (Tibet) in the north, Bhutan and Bangladesh in the east. India is different from other countries of Asia regarding climate, vegetation and culture.

How many Subcontinents are there?

Each continent is unique with specific characteristics. There are 6 commonly known continents, namely the Africa, Americas, Antarctica, Asia, Europe, and Oceania.

What are the continent/subcontinent supported?

sub_region_code subcontinent
4D South Asia
4E South East Asia
4F South West Asia
5A Central Europe