Is Minority defined in Indian Constitution?

Is the term minority defined in Constitution of India?

The term “Minority” is not defined in the Indian Constitution. However, the Constitution recognises religious and linguistic minorities.

Who is minority in Indian Constitution?

Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists, Jain and Zorastrians (Parsis) have been notified as minority communities under Section 2 (c) of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992.

How is minority determined in India?

“Linguistic and religious minorities are covered by the expression “minority” under Article 30 of the Constitution. Since reorganization of the States in India has been on linguistic lines, therefore, for the purpose of determining the minority, the unit will be the State and not the whole of India.

Who is minority according to Constitution?

“As per clause (c) of section 2 of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992, five communities vide Ministry of Welfare notification dated 23rd October, 1993 are declared as minority communities viz Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists and Zoroastrians (Parsis),” he said.

What is minority law?

The UN Sub-Commissions in Prevention of Discrimination and Protection of Minorities define minority as a group numerically inferior to the rest of the population of a state which possess and wish to preserve stable ethnic, religious or linguistic traditions.

Who is eligible for minority certificate?

Eligibility Criteria:- ( I) The candidate should belong to one of the Minority Communities i.e. Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains and Parsis notified under Section 2(C) of National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992 (ii) The total annual income of family from all sources should not exceed to Rs. 4.50 Lakh.

THIS IS FUN:  Are IT jobs stressful in India?

Who is majority in India?

% 2011

Religious group Population (2011) % Literacy (2011) (%)
Hinduism 79.80% 73.3%
Islam 14.23% 68.5%
Christianity 2.30% 84.5%
Sikhism 1.72% 75.4%