Question: What were the main features of the Indian Independence Act?

What are the main features of the Indian Independence Act?

The Indian Independence Act was passed in 1947. The act created two new independent dominions; India and Pakistan. Pakistan was split into Pakistan and East Pakistan which is now Bangladesh. The Bengal and Punjab provinces were partitioned between the two new countries.

What is the importance of India Independence Act?

The India Independence Act of 1947 was an implementation of the 3 June Plan. The Act’s most important provisions were that British India would be divided into two completely sovereign dominions of Pakistan and India and would come into effect from August 15th 1947.

What were the clauses of the Independence Act?

Two New Dominions: Indian would be partitioned and two new Dominions – India and Pakistan – would be created on August 15, 1947. The Act established the legislative supremacy of both the Dominions. Pakistan would comprise of Sindh, British Baluchistan, North West Frontier Province, West Punjab and East Bengal.

THIS IS FUN:  What are the four ways by which the government of India has tried to implement equality in our country?

Who designed the Indian Independence Act of 1947 state any four features of it?

The legislation was formulated by the government of Prime Minister Clement Attleeand the Governor General of India Lord Mountbatten, after representatives of theIndian National Congress,[2] the Muslim League,[3] and the Sikh community[4] came to an agreement with Lord Mountbatten on what has come to be known as the 3 …

What did the Indian Independence Act of 1947 state about Bengal and Punjab?

Answer: (i) Bengal and Punjab- Both Bengal and Punjab would be divided if so desired by the people. The Provincial Assemblies of the two parts would meet separately representing Hindu majority districts and Muslim majority vote whether they wanted the division of the province or not.

What was the immediate result of Indian independence?

After the 1930s, the movement took on a strong socialist orientation. The work of these various movements ultimately led to the Indian Independence Act 1947, which ended suzerainty in India, and created Pakistan.

What did the Indian Independence Act 1947 state about North West Frontier Province?

Both Dominions had legislative supremacy under the Independence Act. … Sindh, British Baluchistan, the North-West Frontier Province, the West Punjab, and East Bengal would make up Pakistan. All of British India’s remaining territories were to be integrated into India.

What is the significance of 1947?

Independence Day marks the end of British rule in 1947 and the establishment of a free and independent Indian nation. It also marks the anniversary of the partition of the subcontinent into two countries, India and Pakistan, which occurred at midnight on August 14–15, 1947.

THIS IS FUN:  Is tap water safe to drink in Bangalore?

WHO declared Indian independence?

On 15 August 1947, the first Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru raised the Indian national flag above the Lahori Gate of the Red Fort in Delhi. On each subsequent Independence Day, the incumbent Prime Minister customarily raises the flag and gives an address to the nation.

Who made a tryst with destiny?

“Tryst with Destiny” was an English-language speech delivered by Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India, to the Indian Constituent Assembly in the Parliament, on the eve of India’s Independence, towards midnight on 14 August 1947.

Who drew the border between India and Pakistan?

Process and key people

In order to determine exactly which territories to assign to each country, in June 1947, Britain appointed Sir Cyril Radcliffe to chair two boundary commissions—one for Bengal and one for Punjab.

Which one of the following is not a characteristic feature of the Indian Independence Act 1947?

Princely states were free to join either India or Pakistan or remain independent. The constituent assemblies of both states were free to make constitutions of their respective countries. Hence option 2 is NOT correct.

How did India gain independence from Britain?

India won its freedom from British colonial rule in 1947, after many decades of struggle. Mohandas Gandhi, known as Mahatma Gandhi, joined the fight in 1914 and led the country to independence, using his method of nonviolent protest known as satyagraha.

What were the proposals in the Government of India Act 1935 regarding an All India Federation?

The proposed all India federation included 11 provinces of British India, 6 Chief Commissioners Provinces and those princely states who might accede to the federation. For princely states, the accession to the Federation was voluntary.

THIS IS FUN:  Frequent question: Is Indian River Inlet Beach Open?