Question: Why did India agree to Loc?

Why was Loc formed?

According to the United Nations, the LOC came into effect in July 1972, after India and Pakistan fought a war that began in 1971. They signed the Simla Agreement to define what was previously called the “ceasefire line.”

How did the term Line of Control come into being?

India and Pakistan fought over Kashmir between 1947 and 1948. The line originally marked the military front when the two countries declared a ceasefire on 1/2 January 1949. The fronts gradually became a solid boundary. It was formally named the Line of Control after the Simla Agreement, which was signed on 3 July 1972.

How was Loc formed?

It was established as part of the Simla Agreement at the end of the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971. Both nations agreed to rename the ceasefire line as the “Line of Control” and pledged to respect it without prejudice to their respective positions.

Can you cross India Pakistan border?

Probably because most people are still wondering if it’s possible to cross overland between India and Pakistan! Good news: it totally is. If you’re armed with a visa (and nothing else), the Wagah border crossing is the most convenient way of traveling overland between India and Pakistan.

THIS IS FUN:  What is the cancellation fee for Air India ticket?

Why can’t India take back Aksai Chin?

Aksai Chin is difficult to access from Indian side compared to China’s side due to difficult terrain. Thus massive infrastructure needs to be put in place.

Is Loc fenced?

It has been reported that approximately two-thirds of the 740-km LoC has been fenced. The fencing comprises double strands of barbed wire and is electrified at night. It is axiomatic that for a military obstacle system to be effective, it must be “covered” by small arms fire.

Which country accepted Pakistan first?

Iran was the first country to recognize Pakistan as an independent state, and Shah Mohammad Reza Pahlavi was the first head of any state to come on an official state visit to Pakistan (in March 1950).

Who controls Siachen Glacier?

The Indian army controls all of the 76 kilometres (47 mi) and 2553sq km area long Siachen Glacier and all of its tributary glaciers, as well as all the main passes and heights of the Saltoro Ridge immediately west of the glacier, including Sia La, Bilafond La, and Gyong La—thus holding onto the tactical advantage of …

When did Pakistan occupy Kashmir?

Azad Kashmir

Azad Jammu and Kashmir آزاد جموں و کشمیر
Administering Country Pakistan
Established October 24, 1947 (Azad Kashmir Day)
Capital Muzaffarabad
Largest city Muzaffarabad

Which Indian state has longest border with Pakistan?

Jammu and Kashmir shares the longest border with Pakistan which has a length of 1222 km. Jammu and Kashmir is followed by Rajasthan which has a length of 1179 km, after this comes Gujarat with 506 km and finally Punjab with 425 km long border.

THIS IS FUN:  Which Curry is not Indian?

Does Gujarat share a border with Pakistan?

There are three states and 1 union territory that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Punjab, Rajasthan, Gujarat and Jammu and Kashmir. … The IB is stretched from Jammu and Kashmir at the north to the Zero Point between Gujarat in India and Sindh province in Pakistan.

What is Karachi agreement related to?

The Karachi Agreement formally called the Agreement Between Military Representatives of India and Pakistan Regarding the Establishment of a Cease-Fire Line in the State of Jammu and Kashmir, was signed on 27 July 1949, supervised by the Truce Subcommittee of the UNCIP.