Quick Answer: How many states are there in West Coast India?

Which state is on the west coast of India?

It includes the states of Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka Kerala and Tamil Nadu. The region consists of three sections: the Northern part of the coast is called the Konkan (Mumbai to Goa), the central stretch is called the Kanara or the “Karavali”, while the southern stretch is referred to as the Malabar Coast.

How many states are there in West?

As defined by the United States Census Bureau, the Western region of the United States includes 13 states, with a total 2020 population of 78,588,572.

Which states are in the west of India?

States In west india

  • goa.
  • gujarat.
  • maharashtra.
  • dadra and nager haveli.
  • daman and diu.

What is West coast of India?

The Western Coastal Plain is best described as a narrow strip of land between the Western Ghats on the east and the Arabian Sea on the west. It ranges in width from 50 to 100 km and extends from the present state of Gujarat in the north through the states of Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka and Kerala.

THIS IS FUN:  What are the problems faced by Indian economy?

How many Coast are there in India?

Coastal States of India

Coastal data
Length of coastline 7516.6 km Mainland: 5422.6 km Island Territories: 2094 km
Total number of coastal districts 66 coastal districts in mainland India; 3 in Andaman & Nicobar and 1 in Lakshadweep
Coastal Geomorphology (Mainland)
Sandy Beach 43 %

What is the old name of Gujarat?

Gujarat was also known as Pratichya and Varuna. The Arabian Sea makes up the state’s western coast. The capital, Gandhinagar is a planned city.

What states are West coast?

The term typically refers to the contiguous U.S. states of California, Oregon, and Washington, but sometimes includes Alaska and Hawaii, especially by the United States Census Bureau as a U.S. geographic division.

Is Goa south or west?

Goa is situated on the west coast of the subcontinent. The state is bordered in the north by the Terekhol River which separates it from the Indian state of Maharashtra, in the east and south by Karnataka State and in the west by the Arabian Sea.

What states east coast?

Regionally, the term refers to the coastal states and area east of the Appalachian Mountains that have shoreline on the Atlantic Ocean, from north to south, Maine, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and …

How many states are there in West India?

West India comprises of the states of Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra, and the union territories of Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

Which is the West most state of India?

Option B) Gujarat: It is the westernmost state of India, the majority of which lies on the Kathiawar peninsula. ‘Ghar Moti’, a small village in the Kutch region of Gujarat, is referred to as the Westernmost point of the country.

THIS IS FUN:  Frequent question: Who is the most popular dog in India?

How many East states are there in India?

It comprises eight states – Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Sikkim.

Northeast India
Coordinates:26°N 91°ECoordinates:26°N 91°E
Country India
States Arunachal Pradesh Assam Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram Nagaland Sikkim Tripura
Largest city Guwahati