Quick Answer: What are the executive powers of the President of India Class 11?

What are the executive powers of the president Class 11?

The President also has veto power by which he can withhold or refuse to give assent to Bills (other than Money Bill) passed by the Parliament.

Free Resources.

RD Sharma Class 12 Solutions RD Sharma Class 11
RD Sharma Class 8 RD Sharma Class 7

What are the executive powers of the President of India?

The president is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces. The president can declare war or conclude peace, on the advice of the Union Council of Ministers headed by the prime minister. All important treaties and contracts are made in the president’s name.

What are the emergency powers of the President of India Class 11?

The President can exercise his emergency powers in three types of emergencies: national emergency, state emergency, and financial emergency.

  • National Emergency is imposed by the President on request by the Prime Minister’s cabinet of ministers. …
  • State Emergency is often referred to as President’s Rule.
THIS IS FUN:  Is tap water safe to drink in Bangalore?

What are the main powers of the executive?

The Executive Branch conducts diplomacy with other nations and the President has the power to negotiate and sign treaties, which the Senate ratifies. The President can issue executive orders, which direct executive officers or clarify and further existing laws.

What is an executive class 11?

Executive is the branch of government responsible for the implementation of laws and policies adopted by the legislature. … The executive branch is not just about presidents, prime ministers and ministers.

What are the 3 main powers of the president?

The Constitution explicitly assigns the president the power to sign or veto legislation, command the armed forces, ask for the written opinion of their Cabinet, convene or adjourn Congress, grant reprieves and pardons, and receive ambassadors.

What are the four executive powers of President?

The various powers that are included within the comprehensive expression ‘executive power’ can be classified as under:

  • Powers Pertaining to Administration: …
  • Powers as Commander of Armed Forces: …
  • Powers in International Affairs: …
  • Powers over Legislation: …
  • Powers in Matters of Finance: …
  • Powers over State Legislation:

What are the 10 powers of President?


  • make treaties with the approval of the Senate.
  • veto bills and sign bills.
  • represent our nation in talks with foreign countries.
  • enforce the laws that Congress passes.
  • act as Commander-in-Chief during a war.
  • call out troops to protect our nation against an attack.

What are the powers of President of India Class 8?

The President promulgates ordinances when the Parliament is not in session. He appoints Prime Minister, Council of Ministers, Governors of the states, judges and chief justices of the high court and the Supreme Court. All the International Treaties and negotiations with other countries are signed on his behalf.

THIS IS FUN:  How do Indians dress to look professional?

How is Prime Minister the real executive?

Real executive power vests in a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister as head. Article 74(1) of the Constitution provides that there shall be a Council of Ministers headed by the Prime Minister to aid and advise the President who shall, in exercise of his functions, act in accordance with such advice.

What are the powers of the Speaker of Lok Sabha?

The President through their aide Secretary-General notifies the election date. If only one name is proposed, the Speaker is elected without any formal vote. However, if more than one nomination is received, a division (vote) is called. MPs vote for their candidate on such a date notified by President.

What are the powers of the prime minister?

The prime minister is the senior-most member of cabinet in the executive of government in a parliamentary system. The prime minister selects and can dismiss members of the cabinet; allocates posts to members within the government; and is the presiding member and chairperson of the cabinet.