What are the lines of India?

What are the 7 borders of India?

India shares its border with seven countries namely Afghanistan, Pakistan, China, Bhutan, Nepal, Myanmar, Bangladesh, Maldives and Sri Lanka.

What are the 4 boundaries of India?

Political Boundaries

Namely, Pakistan on its West, and Nepal, China and Bhutan on its Northeast. It has both Myanmar and Bangladesh on its East. Also, Sri Lanka lies to the South of India. Furthermore, the union territory Andaman and Nicobar Islands lie close to Thailand and Indonesia.

What are the dividing lines of India?

Here are the major lines that divided the Indian Subcontinent into eight different countries.

  • Durand Line. The Durand Line is the 2,430-kilometre International border between Pakistan and Afghanistan. …
  • Radcliffe Line. Google Maps. …
  • Radcliff line which separates India from Bangladesh. …
  • MacMohan Line. …
  • Palk Strait. …
  • 6 Other Borders.

What is the name of line between India and Nepal?

The India–Nepal border is an open international border running between India and Nepal. The 1,770 km (1,099.83 mi) long border includes the Himalayan territories as well as Indo-Gangetic Plain.

India–Nepal border
Length 1,770 kilometres (1,100 mi)
Established 1815 Treaty of Sugauli between Nepal and British Raj
THIS IS FUN:  Your question: Is it easy to get UK visa from India?

What is the capital of India?

New Delhi, national capital of India. It is situated in the north-central part of the country on the west bank of the Yamuna River, adjacent to and just south of Delhi city (Old Delhi) and within the Delhi national capital territory.

Why is India called a subcontinent?

India is a subcontinent located in South of Asian continent. It is considered a subcontinent because it covers an expansive area of land that includes the Himalayan region in the north, the Gangetic Plain as well as the plateau region in the south.

Does India touch Afghanistan?

Replying to this, the home minister said, “We share 106-km land border with Afghanistan. … The official document recognises that India has border only with Bangladesh (4,096.70 km), Pakistan (3,323 km), China (3,488 km), Nepal (1,751 km), Bhutan (699 km), and Myanmar (1,643 km).

How many states are in India?

There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/ UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.

Where is Radcliffe Line?

The Radcliffe Line was the boundary demarcation line between the Indian and Pakistani portions of the Punjab and Bengal provinces of British India.

What is the boundary name?

Important International Borders

Name of Lines/Boundaries Between
49th Parallel The USA and Canada
Durand Line Pakistan and Afghanistan
Hindenburg Line Poland and Germany

Which is the border line of India and Pakistan?

The boundary demarcation line between India and Pakistan known as the Radcliffe Line came into force on 17 August 1947. The boundary line is named after Sir Cyril Radcliffe the man who had the thankless job of drawing the lines of Partition to carve out Muslim majority Pakistan from India.

THIS IS FUN:  What did the caste system do for Indian society?