What dates did the Indian Mutiny start and end?

Восстание сипаев

When did the Indian mutiny began?

The Mutiny proper began at Meerut on 10 May 1857. Eighty-five members of the 3rd Bengal Light Cavalry, who had been jailed for refusing to use cartridges they believed to be at odds with their religion, were broken out of prison by their comrades.

How did the Indian Mutiny start?

It began (May 10, 1857) at Meerut as a mutiny among 35,000 Indian troops (sepoys) in the Bengal army. The immediate cause was the introduction of cartridges lubricated with the fat of cows and pigs, a practice offensive to Hindus and Muslims. A more general cause was resentment at Westernization.

When did the Revolt of 1857 begin?

The rebellion began on 10 May 1857 in the form of a mutiny of sepoys of the Company’s army in the garrison town of Meerut, 40 mi northeast of Delhi.

Who died 17th June 1857?

Lakshmi Bai, also spelled Laxmi Bai, (born c. November 19, 1835, Kashi, India—died June 17, 1858, Kotah-ki-Serai, near Gwalior), rani (queen) of Jhansi and a leader of the Indian Mutiny of 1857–58.

When did the Indian Mutiny end?

Aftermath. The immediate result of the mutiny was a general housecleaning of the Indian administration. The East India Company was abolished in favour of the direct rule of India by the British government.

THIS IS FUN:  Which areas are in south Mumbai?

In what year did the British Raj’s rule end in India?

British raj, period of direct British rule over the Indian subcontinent from 1858 until the independence of India and Pakistan in 1947.

What was immediate cause of revolt 1857?

Complete answer: The introduction of the ‘Enfield Rifle’ was the immediate cause of the Revolt 1857 because it was of the opinion that the cartridge of the Enfield Rifle had to be bitten before using it. The cartridge was made up of pork and beef. … Thus, began the Revolt of 1857.

What were the main events of the revolt of 1857?


Events of 1857
Date Event
8 April Pandey hanged at Barrackpore
24 April Troopers of the 3rd Bengal Light Cavalry at Meerut refuse orders to fire greased cartridges
2 May Unrest at Ambala, 48th Mutiny at Lucknow

When did 1857 revolt end?

Bahadur Shah II, a Mughal Emperor, was temporarily named ruler of India in 1857, and placed in power by the Sepoys, during the rebellion.

Who was Bhagat Khan?

General Bakht Khan (1797–13 May 1859) was commander-in-chief of the Indian independent forces in the region of Delhi during the Indian Rebellion of 1857 against the East India Company.