Your question: What were the four main provision of the Indian Independence Act?

What were the four main provisions of the Indian Independence Act?

Each would serve as Central Legislature. (iii) Princely States: The Princely States became independent and all the powers exercised by British authority were terminated. (iv) Abolition of the office of the Secretary of State: The office of the Secretary of State for India was abolished.

Which is the main provision of the Indian Independence Act?

The main provisions of Indian Independence Act, 1947 were as under: (a) The British government will leave India on 15th August, 1947. (b) India will be divided into two sovereign states of India and Pakistan and both these states will become sovereign on this very day.

What were the main provisions of Indian Independence Act of 1847?

The Act established the legislative supremacy of both the Dominions. Pakistan would comprise of Sindh, British Baluchistan, North West Frontier Province, West Punjab and East Bengal. On the other hand, India would consist of the remaining territories of British India.

THIS IS FUN:  You asked: Do Indian agents still exist?

What were the provisions of the Indian Independence Act, 1947?

The Indian Independence Act was passed in 1947. The act created two new independent dominions; India and Pakistan. Pakistan was split into Pakistan and East Pakistan which is now Bangladesh. The Bengal and Punjab provinces were partitioned between the two new countries.

Why did the Congress accept the Mountbatten Plan 4?

The experience of working with the Muslim League in the interim government had taught the Congress that it would be impossible to work with them and that it could not have a joint administration with the League. … Hence, the Indian National Congress accepted the Mountbatten Plan.

What are the provisions of Mountbatten Plan?

Four clauses of the Mountbatten Plan: (i) To divide British India into India and Pakistan. (ii) The Princely States would be free to join either India or Pakistan. (iii) Bengal and Punjab were to be partitioned provided the Legislative Assemblies of both states voted in favour of partition.

What is the importance of India Independence Act?

The India Independence Act of 1947 was an implementation of the 3 June Plan. The Act’s most important provisions were that British India would be divided into two completely sovereign dominions of Pakistan and India and would come into effect from August 15th 1947.

What did the Indian Independence Act of 1947 state about Bengal and Punjab?

Answer: (i) Bengal and Punjab- Both Bengal and Punjab would be divided if so desired by the people. The Provincial Assemblies of the two parts would meet separately representing Hindu majority districts and Muslim majority vote whether they wanted the division of the province or not.

THIS IS FUN:  Why is India's population declining?

Who designed the Indian Independence Act 1947?

The Indian Independence Act, 1947 was an act of the British Parliament that partitioned India into two independent dominions of India and Pakistan. The legislation was drafted by the Labour government of Clement Attlee.

What did the Indian Independence Act of 1947 state about North West Frontier Province?

Both Dominions had legislative supremacy under the Independence Act. … Sindh, British Baluchistan, the North-West Frontier Province, the West Punjab, and East Bengal would make up Pakistan. All of British India’s remaining territories were to be integrated into India.

Who made a tryst with destiny?

“Tryst with Destiny” was an English-language speech delivered by Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India, to the Indian Constituent Assembly in the Parliament, on the eve of India’s Independence, towards midnight on 14 August 1947.