What are the principal school of Hindu law?

Two principal Schools—Mitakshara and Dayabhaga: The two main schools of Hindu Law are the”Mitakshara” and the `Dayabhaga’. These two schools of Hindu Law are marked by a vital difference of opinion and interpretations of the Smritis.

What are the main schools of Hindu Law explain?

Ans: This school of thought is relatively recent in comparison with Mitakshara School of hindu law. It is based upon the digests as opposed to commentaries written upon smritis. While Mitakshara School of Hindu Law is prevalent throughout India, Dayabhaga School of hindu law is prevalent in Bengal and Assam.

How many schools are there in Hindu Law?

There are two Schools of Hindu Law:- a) Mitakshara b) Dayabhaga. Mitakshara School prevails throughout India except in Bengal. It is a running commentary on the code of Yajnavalkya (Yajnavalkya Smriti). Mitakshara is an orthodox School whereas the Dayabhaga is Reformist School.

What are the sources and schools of Hindu Law?

The Dayabhaga and Mitakshara are the two major schools of Hindu law. The Dayabhaga school of law is based on the commentaries of Jimutvahana (author of Dayabhaga which is the digest of all Codes) and the Mitakshara is based on the commentaries written by Vijnaneswar on the Code of Yajnavalkya.

THIS IS FUN:  What are the three natural boundaries of India?

Which are the two school of HUF under Hindu Law?

A Hindu Undivided Family (joint family) is governed by the two schools of Hindu Law viz; Mitakshara and Dayabhaga. (The Dayabhaga school is prevalent mainly in West Bengal and Assam whereas the Mitakshara school is prevalent in most of the other parts of India.)

Who is a Coparcener?

Under the Hindu Law, the coparcener is a term to indicate those male members of a Hindu family who have an undivided interest over the ancestral property by birth. … After the 2005 amendment of the Hindu Succession Law, a daughter of the family is also considered a coparcener.

What is the difference between Mitakshara and Dayabhaga school?

Under Mitakshara school right to ancestral property arises by birth. … While in Dayabhaga school the right to ancestral property is only given after the death of the last owner. It does not recognise the birth right of any individual over an ancestral property.

What is Dayabhaga law?

Dayabhaga is the school of Hindu law which states that the children have no right on the ancestral property before the death of their fathers. Mitakshara school of Hindu law states the son acquires the right to the ancestral property just after their birth.

What is Apratibandha and Sapratibandha?

Joint family or ancestral property in which the male issues, i.e., sons, grandsons and great grandsons acquire an interest by birth is called “Apratibandha” or “Unobstructed heritage” while separate or self-acquired property of-a person in which no right is acquired by birth, but such right is acquired only on the …

THIS IS FUN:  Why is natural increase so high in Mumbai?

Who wrote Vedas?

According to tradition, Vyasa is the compiler of the Vedas, who arranged the four kinds of mantras into four Samhitas (Collections).

How many Smritis are there?

Yājñavalkya gives the list of total 20 by adding two more Smritis, namely, Yājñavalkyasmriti and Manusmriti.

What are the main source of Hindu law?

The primary and important source of Hindu law is Vedas. According to tradition the Vedas also called Shruti. Shruti means what is heard by the Sages (Rishis). The Vedas are the fountain-head of Hindu religion and law.

How many sources are there in Hindu law?

So according to the traditional source of Hindu law, there are 4 sources of Hindu law, which are as follows: Shruti (Vedas) Smrities. Digest and commentaries.