Quick Answer: What were the main features of Indian Independence Act 1947?

The Indian Independence Act was passed in 1947. The act created two new independent dominions; India and Pakistan. Pakistan was split into Pakistan and East Pakistan which is now Bangladesh. The Bengal and Punjab provinces were partitioned between the two new countries.

What are the main features of Indian Independence Act 1947?

Salient features of this act ;

  • creation of two sovereign dominions of India and Pakistan.
  • division of Bengal and Punjab among the two newly formed countries.
  • the office of governer general would be set up ,he would represent the British crown.
  • the British authority would be terminated from 15th August 1947.

What is the importance of India Independence Act?

The India Independence Act of 1947 was an implementation of the 3 June Plan. The Act’s most important provisions were that British India would be divided into two completely sovereign dominions of Pakistan and India and would come into effect from August 15th 1947.

THIS IS FUN:  Is it legal to hit a child in school in India?

Who designed the Indian Independence Act of 1947 state any four features of it?

The legislation was formulated by the government of Prime Minister Clement Attleeand the Governor General of India Lord Mountbatten, after representatives of theIndian National Congress,[2] the Muslim League,[3] and the Sikh community[4] came to an agreement with Lord Mountbatten on what has come to be known as the 3 …

Which one of the following is not a characteristic feature of the Indian Independence Act 1947?

Princely states were free to join either India or Pakistan or remain independent. The constituent assemblies of both states were free to make constitutions of their respective countries. Hence option 2 is NOT correct.

What are the features of the Indian Constitution?

Features of Indian Constitution

  • Lengthiest constitution. …
  • Drawn from Different Sources. …
  • Federal System and Unitary Features. …
  • Parliamentary Form of Government. …
  • Parliamentary Sovereignty and Judicial Supremacy. …
  • Independent and Integrated Judicial System. …
  • Directive Principles. …
  • Rigid and Flexible.

What did the Indian Independence Act of 1947 state about Bengal and Punjab?

Answer: (i) Bengal and Punjab- Both Bengal and Punjab would be divided if so desired by the people. The Provincial Assemblies of the two parts would meet separately representing Hindu majority districts and Muslim majority vote whether they wanted the division of the province or not.

What is the significance of 1947?

Independence Day marks the end of British rule in 1947 and the establishment of a free and independent Indian nation. It also marks the anniversary of the partition of the subcontinent into two countries, India and Pakistan, which occurred at midnight on August 14–15, 1947.

THIS IS FUN:  Which state has largest sea coast in India?

What did the Indian Independence Act 1947 state about North West Frontier Province?

Both Dominions had legislative supremacy under the Independence Act. … Sindh, British Baluchistan, the North-West Frontier Province, the West Punjab, and East Bengal would make up Pakistan. All of British India’s remaining territories were to be integrated into India.

Who was the prime minister of Britain when India attained independence on 15th August 1947?

That laconic reply was by none other than Clement Richard Attlee (1883-1967), former Labour Prime Minister of England (1945-51). He succeeded Churchill, the larger than life figure who was credited with winning the Second World War.

Who drew the border between India and Pakistan?

Process and key people

In order to determine exactly which territories to assign to each country, in June 1947, Britain appointed Sir Cyril Radcliffe to chair two boundary commissions—one for Bengal and one for Punjab.

In which year the Indian Independence Act was passed?

Indian Independence Act, 1947.