Which city is capital of two states in India?

CHANDIGARH, India — Since Chandigarh is the shared capital city of both Punjab and Haryana, two farming states in northern India, many of the state government offices are located there.

Which same city is the capital of two states?

Chandigarh was located on the border of both states and the states moved to incorporate the city into their respective territories. However, the city of Chandigarh was declared a union territory to serve as capital of both states.

What were the two capital cities of India?

King George V proclaimed the transfer of the capital from Calcutta to Delhi at the climax of the 1911 Imperial Durbar on 12 December 1911. The buildings housing the Viceroy, government, and parliament were inaugurated in early 1931.

Is the capital of two states Punjab and Haryana?

– Option A: Chandigarh is a union territory in the Northern part of India and the common capital of the states Punjab and Haryana. It was the first planned city in India and is still considered one of the best-planned cities in the world. It has an area of 114 sq.

Why Hyderabad is the capital of two states?

After the introduction of the States Reorganisation Act of 1956, Hyderabad was made the capital of the newly formed Andhra Pradesh. In 2014, Andhra Pradesh was bifurcated to form Telangana and Hyderabad became the joint capital of the two states with a transitional arrangement scheduled to end in 2024.

THIS IS FUN:  Is there censorship in India?

What is the capital city of Chandigarh?

Chandigarh city is the capital of the territory and of the states of Haryana and Punjab. Chandigarh’s name, meaning “stronghold of the goddess Chandi,” is derived from the Chandi Mandir, a temple dedicated to the goddess that is located near the town of Mani Majra. Area union territory, 44 square miles (114 square km).

Which is the capital of Punjab?

New Delhi, national capital of India. It is situated in the north-central part of the country on the west bank of the Yamuna River, adjacent to and just south of Delhi city (Old Delhi) and within the Delhi national capital territory.

Which is the capital of Kerala?

Искать: Which is the capital of Kerala?