Which class is called high school in India?

Secondary education includes a high school for children in India. Different schools have different terms to refer to different classes of students. For some schools, high school may only mean courses of 11th and 12th. While at the same time, for another school, high school may mean classes from 6th to 12th.

What is high school called in India?

Secondary education covers children aged 14 to 18, a group comprising 88.5 million children according to the 2001 Census of India. The final two years of secondary is often called Higher Secondary (HS), Senior Secondary, or simply the “+2” stage.

Is high school a Class 12?

The Academic year for Indian schools runs from April to March. Students complete 10 years of schooling to obtain a Secondary School Certificate (SSC) or 12 years of schooling to obtain a Higher Secondary School Certificate (HSSC).


Stage Age Grade/Class
High School 15-16 10
Higher Secondary 16-17 11
17-18 12

Is high school a Class 9 in India?

India. After the National Education Policy 2020 9th grade in India is the freshman year of high school. In the 9th grade students get to choose 5 subjects of their choice.

THIS IS FUN:  Where does the Indian Standard Meridian passes through?

What is class 13 called in India?

The school system in India has four levels: lower primary (age 6 to 10), upper primary (11 and 12), high (13 to 15) and higher secondary (17 and 18). The lower primary school is divided into five “standards”, upper primary school into two, high school into three and higher secondary into two.

Is 10th called high school?

The tenth grade is the tenth school year. Grade 10 is a part of high school, and in most parts of the U.S. it is the second year of high school, with 11th then 12th following. The term high school is often used to mean senior high school and distinguished from junior high school.

Which class is known as high school?

The schools which impart education up till 10th class are known as Secondary Schools, High Schools, Senior Schools etc.

What is 12th pass called?

In India, HSC/Intermediate is known as 12th class (also known as +2) exam which is conducted at the state level by the state boards of education like (Maharashtra board, MP board, West Bengal board, Odia board, Bihar board & many others) and at the national level by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE), …

What is 10th and 12th class called?

Yes, SSC stands for Secondary School Certificate and HSC stands for Higher Secondary Certificate. Secondary School Certificate means Class 10th and Higher Secondary Certificate means Class 12th in countries like India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. 3.

What Europeans call high schools?

Gymnasium (or gimnaziu, gymnázium, gimnazija, gimnazjum, etc.) is a term in various European languages for a secondary school that prepares students for higher education at a university.

THIS IS FUN:  What is the price of Maruti 800 in India?

What is 10th class called?

In south Indian states such as Karnataka, Kerala and Maharashtra, they called SSLC Certificate for standard 10th. In north and eastern states, they called HSC Certificate – Higher Secondary/Matriculation Certificate.

What is 10th and 12th called in CBSE?

The CBSE Class 10 Board Exams are called All India Secondary School Examination (AISSE) and the Class 12 Board exams are called – All India Senior School Certificate Examination (AISSCE).

Is 12th high school diploma?

In the United States, a high school diploma is usually conferred upon the satisfactory completion of schooling encompassing Kindergarten through the 12th grade and is issued by the student’s high school.