Which of these tennis player has won an Olympic medal for India?

Who is first Indian tennis player won Olympic medal?

It was on this day 25 years ago that Leander Paes became the first & only Indian to win an Olympics medal in tennis. He achieved this feat at Atlanta in 1996. Leander Paes is one of the tennis players who gave recognition to the game in India and also has several laurels to his name including an Olympics medal.

Who won Olympic medals in tennis?

BK Nehru in 1905 and Sardar Nihal Singh in 1908 were later joined by M Saleem, Fayzee brothers and Jagat Mohan Lal who made it to last 16 stages at the Wimbledon. Ghaus Mohammad was the first Indian to reach the quarterfinals at Wimbledon in 1939 where he lost to American champion Bobby Riggs.

Has Milkha Singh won an Olympic medal?

He represented India in the 1956 Summer Olympics in Melbourne, the 1960 Summer Olympics in Rome and the 1964 Summer Olympics in Tokyo. He was awarded the Padma Shri, India’s fourth-highest civilian honour, in recognition of his sporting achievements.

Milkha Singh.

Personal information
Sport Track and field
Event(s) Sprinting
THIS IS FUN:  Best answer: What are the 7 sins in Hinduism?

Who won the last tennis Olympics?

Singles (men)

Games Gold Bronze
2008 Beijing Rafael Nadal Spain Novak Djokovic Serbia
2012 London Andy Murray Great Britain Juan Martín del Potro Argentina
2016 Rio de Janeiro Andy Murray Great Britain Kei Nishikori Japan
2020 Tokyo Alexander Zverev Germany Pablo Carreño Busta Spain

Who won women’s Olympic tennis?

In the bronze medal match, Ukraine’s Elina Svitolina defeated Kazakhstan’s Elena Rybakina, 1–6, 7–6, 6–4. It was Ukraine’s first Olympic tennis medal.

Tennis at the 2020 Summer Olympics – Women’s singles.

Women’s singles
Champion Belinda Bencic
Runner-up Markéta Vondroušová
Final score 7–5, 2–6, 6–3

Who won 2012 Olympics?

1, but his silver finish remains his only Olympic medal in singles.

Tennis at the 2012 Summer Olympics – Men’s singles.

Men’s singles
Tennis at the 2012 Summer Olympics
Champion Andy Murray
Runner-up Roger Federer
Final score 6–2, 6–1, 6–4

Who is the famous Indian tennis player?

Sania Mirza is arguably the most famous tennis player in India. A former world No. 1 in the doubles discipline, she has won six Grand Slam titles in her career.

Which Indian tennis player has won the most Grand Slams?

1. Leander Paes: Leander Paes the most successful Indian on the circuit, has 14 Grand Slam titles to his name- 8 in the Men’s Doubles category and 6 in the Mixed Doubles.

Who is the first Indian woman to win medal in tennis?

She has also won the Bronze Medal at the 1998 Bangkok Asian Games in Mixed Doubles, partnering Mahesh Bhupathi. Sanjeev was the first Indian female to enter the top 200 world singles rankings.

Nirupama Sanjeev.

THIS IS FUN:  How can I travel whole India cheaply?
Born 8 December 1976 Coimbatore, India
Height 1.70 m (5 ft 7 in)
Turned pro 1992
Retired 2010