Your question: Which are the major physiography of India?

They are: The great Himalayas, the northern plains, the peninsular plateau, the coastal plains, the Indian desert, and the Islands. All the physiographic divisions are different from each other in various contexts.

Which are the major physiographic divisions in India explain?

The Eastern coastal plains along the Bay of Bengal are wide and level. This consists of Northern Circar and Coromandel coast. The Islands The island groups are the Lakshadweep Islands in the Arabian Sea and Andaman and Nicobar Islands in the Bay of Bengal.

What are the five major physiographic divisions of India?

Note: India is majorly subdivided into five physical regions, namely, the northern mountainous region, north Indian plain, peninsular plateau, islands, and the coastal plain.

What is the physiography of India explain?

India is divided into six physiographic divisions on basis of the varied physiographic features: units as follows: Northern and North-eastern Mountain; Northern Plain; Peninsular Plateau; Indian Desert; Coastal Plains; and Islands.

Why is the physiography of India Diversified explain?

The physiography of India is unique and is responsible for development of distinctive features in the sub-continent. … At 23°30′ North, the Tropic of Cancer passes through the centre of India, dividing the country into two equal parts – Northern and Southern India.

THIS IS FUN:  Best answer: Which is the best palm oil in India?

What are the six major physiographic divisions of India explain any five?

Name the major physical divisions of India.

  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The Indian Desert.
  • The Coastal Plains.
  • The Islands.

What does physiographic mean?

Definitions of physiography. the study of physical features of the earth’s surface. synonyms: physical geography. type of: geographics, geography. study of the earth’s surface; includes people’s responses to topography and climate and soil and vegetation.

Why is the Indian subcontinent called so?

– India is sometimes referred to as a subcontinent because it is a separate landmass, not just a country. … – India was once a continent (or a very big island at least). India migrated north due to continental drift and became a part of Asia.

What is physiography short answer?

The formation and development of the surface of the land like mountains, plateaus, and plains are called physiography.

What are the variations in physiography of India?

Based on these macro variations, India can be divided into the following physiographic divisions: (1) The Northern and North-eastern Mountains (2) The Northern Plain (3) The Peninsular Plateau (4) The Indian Desert (5) The Coastal Plains (6) The Islands.